Poetry: “Mother Bird Syndrome”

How can I follow

If you don’t lead me to water?

How will I escape

My one-story view?

Monkey see, monkey do

You would tell me

I’m responsible for

My own rescue

But omit the key detail

That you were the one

Who fed me

The regurgitated remains

Of your last victim

And I’m conditioned

To crave

The taste

Of prey


dreamstimefree_2297986
Two Crucian Fish © Olena Vasylkova | ID 2297986 | Dreamstime Stock Photos

“Mother Bird Syndrome” © Jane Bled

***

I’m a pescetarian. Mostly.

Thank you for reading.

Jane

Leave a Reply

