Soon, Sayonara

All of my fiction will be gone from the dusty backs of the ebook shelves as of 2/1/15. I’ll still offer free queer fiction on Wattpad & fanfiction on AO3 when the mood strikes my fancy; and when I’m not in too much physical pain.

As much as I hate to see my efforts to become a working author go to waste, I have neither the time nor the energy to maintain my smile in the face of failure. I’m seriously ill, and my condition is worsening, partially due to work-related stress. It’s best to wipe the slate clean so that I don’t dwell on the past. If I leave my books up for sale, I’ll obsess over ways to market them in order to earn more money (I come from a one-income household), and then the cycle will begin anew.

Though I will miss my job (I already do, a month ahead of schedule), I can’t ignore my deteriorating health any longer. Thank you to the few special people who have supported me on this journey. I am in tears thinking of how much I’ll miss you.

The three remaining Author/Artist Spotlight interviews will air by the end of February. After that, I’ll move on. It’s time for me to focus on my family and my fading health, rather than fight an uphill battle to earn a coveted spot on the bestseller lists. I’ll still write whenever I can, but it will only be for pleasure. Perhaps one day, if I ever recover from my various health problems, I’ll try again. They say the third time’s the charm…

Thank you for your time, your company, and your encouragement. My good memories of the wonderful, talented, creative people I’ve met in the past year will undoubtedly comfort me when I’m jonesin’ for the past.

Fondly,

Jane

22 comments

  1. Dear Jane, I wish you all the very best for the future. Hopefully, your talent just needs a break before you take the world by storm with whatever creative plan that’s surely waiting to spring forth in the future!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jane,

    It has been such an honor knowing you. It is my true belief that every set-back in life can teach us lessons that will help is in moving forward, and thus add to our strengths and armament for future endeavors and future successes. I don’t really believe in failures. I believe in jogging paths to unexpected futures. Wherever your path leads you, I wish you only the best, including peace, happiness, and a sense of fulfillment.

    Warmest regards always,

    Lilo Abernathy

    Liked by 3 people

    • Lilo, I’ve always admired you for your strength of characters and ambition. I also appreciate your advice, and your willingness to provide honest insights about this industry. It’s a tough field to succeed in, but you’re well on your way to achieving the kind of readership most writer (myself included) could only dream of. Congratulations on your success – I wish much more of it to come.

      With sincere gratitude,
      Jane

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, I feel like I was just starting to learn about you…
    Don’t view it as failing though, you learned more stuff than you ever would have if you hadn’t tried, and you may even get to apply it towards some other aspect of your life.
    Wishing you the best!
    Kayti (the lurker)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Kayti. I will keep my head held high and walk away from the path I put myself on with as little bitterness in my heart as possible. It was a life-changing experience, that’s for sure.

      Best of luck with your writing career – The Outsider Chronicles looks like my kind of series.

      Cheers,
      Jane

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Jane,

    I am so sad to hear that you are leaving the writing world. Thank you for all the support you have shown me and other fellow writers. You and your works will be missed, but not forgotten. “What we do for ourselves dies with us – what we do for others remains and is immortal”~ A. Pike.

    I truly wish you all the best,

    Sabrina Street

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sabrina, you honestly got me choked up. I know we haven’t interacted much, but you’ve always been someone I enjoy seeing in my Twitter timeline. Belated congratulations on publishing your book The Vampire Keeper – judging from the reviews, it promises to be a solid, entertaining read. I have it saved on my TBR – when I finally read all the books ahead of it, I’ll be excited to check it out.

      Thank you for the kind words (and the quote – too generous a sentiment for the likes of me, but I appreciate the thought) – they mean more to me than I could ever properly express.

      It is my greatest wish that you enjoy a happy & successful career.

      Warm regards,
      Jane

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jane,

    You have been a great friend and a great supporter. You have enriched the lives of those you touched. Time brings perspective and I hope one day you’ll share your talent again. And if not, then I will savor the memory of your evocative writing.

    Take care and well wishes,

    James

    Liked by 2 people

    • James, I will never forget how you and I banded together last year, when we were first getting the hang of Twitter. A lot has changed since then!

      More than anything, I’m so happy that your hard work is paying off – that you’re able to sustain a career in writing without any help from a second job. Watching your evolution has been a privilege – I know it’s only the tip of the iceberg, as you have so many stories left to tell.

      Congratulations, my friend. You deserve your success, and I’m proud to know you.

      Thank you for everything you’ve done to support me. I cherish our connection, and hope that we will remain in touch.

      Fondly,
      Jane

      Like

  6. Oh no… Please take care of yourself. I hope you are able to recover from your illness and that you are able to continue in one of your creative outlets. You are in my thoughts and prayers, Jane. (And thank you for no simply disappearing! <3)

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Knowing you has been an absolute privilege. You are a wonderful, special woman. I hate to see you go but I understand your health and family come first. You will be missed dearly. You have my email and other contact information so feel free to get in contact for some friendly chit chat at any point in time.

    I hope your health improves and when or if you come back to the world of writing you are much healthier and ready to take it by storm.

    Wishing you all the best.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Autumn, please accept my sincere gratitude for your lovely words. I will surely keep in touch – wishing you tons of success on your various writing projects! Speaking of which, I can’t wait to share your Author Spotlight next month. It’s definitely one of my favorite interviews – you’re such an entertaining person!

      Speak soon,
      Jane

      Like

    • I will miss my job, but I know my decision is the right one. Thank you for wishing me good luck, Jason – I need all the luck I can get to pull through this difficult time.

      All the best,
      Jane

      Like

Leave a Reply

