Author Spotlight: Kymberlyn Reed

Season 2, Episode 4

 Kymberlyn Reed

Author of LGBTQ, BDSM, & Vampire Erotica

About as non-traditional as they come, Kymberlyn “Kym” Reed needs reminding that she’s an author – especially since she’s mainly known for working behind-the-scenes as an editor; and for devouring diverse books into the wee hours of the morn like a vampire feasting on mortal blood.

 bestlesbianerotica  eroticavampirica  twt_vol1

“The challenge I always have is not to just showcase racial diversity, but also highlight the intra-diversity in various groups.” – K. Reed

Kymberlyn Reed: The Other Side of the Whip

(Interview completed December 2014)

JB: Kym, I’m so thrilled to have you on the hotspot – interviewing a hybrid author-editor is a new experience.

KR: Hi, thanks for having me.

JB: The pleasure is entirely mine. 🙂

When I first approached you about doing this interview, you seemed a little surprised that I would want to focus on the stories you’ve authored, rather than your primary area of expertise: editing. Can you tell me a little more about your day job?

KR: I was surprised about that because I’m that weird person who knows she’s an author but never really thought about it. I’m a reader first and have no problem talking your ear off about books.

JB: Funny – most authors I know can’t stop talking about their own books.

KR: My day job as it is, is editor for a small multicultural publishing company—Parker Publishing, Inc. Now, I know whenever the word “multicultural” pops up, there are those who either tune it out or have a very limited idea of what such books would consist of. Parker is, firstly, a romance publisher, which for me is an interesting choice because for decades you couldn’t get me near a bodice ripper. I hated the characters, especially the heroines. Those covers were just cringe-worthy—I mean seriously—those moors are cold and wet. Why would a hero have his shirt half off showing off his chest and the heroine without stockings, her dress up around her thighs? They’d catch pneumonia for sure!

JB: Among other things.

KR: It was Outlander that brought me back to romance, though I think of the series as historical fiction with strong romantic elements. Here was a book in which the heroine was smart, savvy, resourceful and no one’s doormat. The hero respected her strength as she did his and they were, what I saw, a partnership rather than, “Me Tarzan/Fabio, you Jane.”

And what’s not to love about a man in a kilt?

JB: I’ll venture to admit there’s a certain appeal lurking below that vivid mental image.

KR: What ended up attracting me to the position was the idea of diversifying a genre still in sore need of diversification. I love interracial romances (having been in IR relationships pretty much most of my dating life) and I wanted to help these stories gain more visibility. And not just romance, but we’ve science-fiction/fantasy and YA imprints which feature lead characters of color. It’s so important that people (not only children) see themselves in a positive and heroic light. It’s also a way for me to “pay it forward”. Someone gave me a chance to see my name in print, so now I have the chance to do the same for first-time authors as well. That’s such a huge boost, giving a novice author their first chance at success.

JB: It must be invigorating, living vicariously through first-time authors who dream of nothing but success. Does one author’s work in particular stand out?

KR: I’ve edited a series—Metalrotica—by BLMorticia, which combined my love of metal music, sexy hot men doing the horizontal (and sometimes vertical) mambo and lots of general rock n’ roll decadence. I began as a reader and having left a detailed review, the author contacted me and before I knew it, I was beta reading her stories. Next thing I know, she’s got my name on the cover.

JB: Right on!

KR: That was a shock, though very cool of her to have done.

JB: So, more about the “sexy hot men” and their erotic mambos…

I’m reminded that you and I met a few years ago, in an online M/M fanfiction community – and I’m not at all ashamed. LOL. What attracted you to that particular genre of writing in the first place?

KR: Great question, fairly long answer. *grin*

Fanfic gets absolutely no respect from a lot of so-called “real” authors and I think that’s unfair. Granted, one does have to wade through a lot of stories to find the gems, but believe me, they’re out there. And to be honest, even the stories that may not be my cuppa are still worthy because those are real people behind the words who took a huge risk putting their thoughts out in cyberspace for all to see. Interestingly enough, a lot of M/M authors began their writing careers in fanfic. In fact, without slash fiction as a jumping-off point, there wouldn’t be a M/M romance genre as we know it.

JB: Hear that, fanfic naysayers?

KR: Personally I saw writing M/M stories as a way to hone my skills as well as express love for characters/artists who’ve become near and dear to me. I also liked the idea of stretching my writer’s wings. Also, I find there’s an interesting power dynamic in M/M romance that I find lacking in a lot of M/F romance. Even in a M/M hurt/comfort story, there’s the sense that the hero who’s being hurt still has some power and agency.

So, being a huge fantasy fan, I’d long known about M/M stories featuring Kirk/Spock (I’ve got one of those old mimeographed Star Trek fic ‘zines in storage somewhere) but it was later, in the Lord of the Rings fandom I found my own niche. I wrote mainly LoTR RPS slash, but there were a few AU tales set in Middle Earth.

JB: For the laymen, RPS stands for “real person slash,” and AU stands for “alternate universe.” Just wanted to clarify – Kym, please continue.

KR: One of the things that really surprised me was how intense the stories were. There were some serious hardcore not-fluffy tales. More important for me though, was how supportive this particular group of authors and readers were. They were totally welcoming to a newb like me who decided to give this type of writing a go. It was this amazing group of women of all ages, nationalities and sexualities who were crafting an erotic vocabulary of their own, without fear or censure and that was so awesome. That I could just let my freaky flag wave proudly, lol. But I was always mindful that I was playing in someone else’s sandbox, so I tried to craft my male characters as true to life as possible and with respect.

JB: So do you have a favorite fanfic?

KR: That’s hard. I have so many authors (yourself included) who make me say, “Damn, I wish I’d written that!” and from so many different fandoms.

JB: I really appreciate the compliment. As a M/M indie author, it’s very challenging to attain feedback, especially of a positive nature. 🙂

Do you still write fanfiction?

KR: Before I continue giving my answers, I really need to give huge hugs and kisses to my writing “sister” Anne. We’ve never met (she lives in Germany) and yet she’s like one of my closest friends. The internet gets a lot of bad press for all the nonsense that tends to happen, but seldom does it get credit for bridging continents and bringing people together.

JB: Truly said.

KR: I’d been reading Anne’s work and was a big fan. She was one of a group of LoTR slash authors who brought a literary sensibility and proved it didn’t have to just be girlgasm material (although there’s absolutely NOTHING wrong with that – *grin*). I’d never written with a partner before her, but we worked so well together right from the first. No matter how crazy the idea, the tropes we wanted to smash–she got it. And she’s a published author in her own right.

JB: Props to Sister Anne.

KR: So am I still writing fanfic? Not as much as I’d like. I do have a few unfinished pieces that I definitely plan to go back to just because they’re taking up space on my hard drive. I do revisit the LoTR group on LJ just to see who’s keeping the flames alive, and it’s always great to play catch-up.

JB: A trip down nostalgia lane often proves beneficial for keeping past interests well-preserved. Besides M/M fantasy, what other genres inspire your creations?

KR: Historical fiction for one. I’m a big historical fiction junkie (which explains why I picked up a little-known series by George R.R. Martin way back in the 90’s that was based around The Wars of the Roses). I’d love to see more historical stories NOT set in Europe though. Egypt is one of the most fascinating and mysterious cultures ever but there are so few historical fiction books about it. The same with Asia, North America (before Europeans) and the rest of Africa.

Definitely interracial romance, which is near and dear to me. I read a LOT of it and I’m all about diversity. After all, that’s how I grew up. It’s normal and frankly, I think it should be for everyone. I’d love to see more romances, especially M/M, do a much better job on diversity. I live in L.A. and see a lot of interracial couples, both straight and GLBTQ. It would be nice to see M/M romances reflect that.

JB: Have you ever tried to write in a genre outside your comfort zone, just to challenge yourself?

KR: The challenge I always have is to not just showcase racial diversity, but the intra-diversity in various groups. Name a subculture and PoC are involved somewhere. I know quite a few Black K-pop fans and of course there’s me–a geeky black metalhead who adores Versailles Philharmonic Quintet and who’s seen VAMPS twice.

JB: I saw HYDE live back in 2006 in LA and he was amazing! So was K.A.Z. – not surprised the two of them made their musical partnership official and formed VAMPS shortly after that.

You mention that being exposed to diversity was normal during your formative years. Can you tell me more about your upbringing?

KR: Okay, my upbringing. Rather prosaic really. Tall, gawky nerd girl growing up in a working-class Black and Latino neighborhood in Los Angeles. Contrary to what gets shown on the news or reported in the papers, not every minority neighborhood is drive-bys and gang-violence. My family is pretty diverse and family reunions were fairly interesting. *grin*

I have Alaskan Indian cousins and Persian aunts, along with my mom, and uncle – who was best friends with a little-known guitarist named Jimi Hendrix when they attended Garfield High School.

JB: Groovy! I’d say it’s much less than six degrees of separation you’ve got going on there.

KR: I was bused to schools in predominantly White neighborhoods which was awesome, because I had the chance to make friends who didn’t look like me. Because of those experiences (along with my family), diversity has always been very natural and very important. Honestly, I couldn’t see living anywhere that wasn’t diverse (and that lacked a decent cafe and bookstore). I was the shy, bookish type, though I did have a very small group of fellow geeks. Mostly though, I lived in my own head. It was safer sometimes, having survived some serious junior high (middle school now) bullying. Books, music (unapologetic Journey fan here: Steve Perry girl always) and Dungeons and Dragons really were my best friends; and I’m grateful my parents never censored what I read (though if they knew I’d been reading John Preston’s Mr. Benson as a pre-teen they may not have been thrilled – *grin*).

JB: I can totally identify with being the “shy, bookish type.” 😉

During your teenage years, did you ever assume the identities of the characters in your favorite books in order to escape the awkwardness of puberty? Was there a particular character you related to more than the others?

KR: Oh goddess, Menolly of Pern from Anne McCaffrey’s Harperhall Trilogy.

She was this intrepid heroine who no one really understood and was ostracized/punished for wanting to play music, so she ran away from home and lived on her own. She caught fish, made her own blankets and cooking utensils, all the while trying to take care of a brace of fire lizards. I loved the fact that she was socially awkward and was used to being a loner, much like me at the time. But her passion for making music was akin to my passion for writing stories.

JB: Those fire lizards sound mighty needy!

KR: Normally no, but Menolly had TEN. Basically, think of ten telepathic and empathetic children in your head. With wings. And claws. With questionable table manners. Who then grow up and mate. And your mind is linked with theirs. Twenty-four-seven. 365 days.

JB: Sounds pretty much like my worst nightmare. 😉

Are any of the characters in your stories like Menolly?

KR: Are my characters like Menolly? Probably. They’re also based on all the strong and fabulous women who’ve been a huge part of my life like my mother and grandmothers. There’s a definite feminist aspect as well. Also a lot of my father and uncle when it comes to being iconoclastic. I despise weak-willed female characters, always have. Which was why I gravitated towards fantasy as a girl. Romance books back in the 1970’s and 1980’s were so chock-filled with these women who were nothing but doormats. They had no agency. They didn’t DO anything save swoon and cry at the drop of a hat. They were beautiful yet vacant. Fantasy heroines went on grand adventures, swung swords, wielded powerful magic and just kicked ass. I love heroines who own their lives, who make no apologies and who DO things. And if they fall in love, they don’t lose themselves within the hero. They still function independently.

JB: Thank you for not writing wimpy women!

If you had to pick a favorite character you’ve created (published or unpublished), who would you choose?

KR: Hmm. Published I’d have to say Regine from “The Razor’s Edge.” She totally owned her sexuality in a way that felt so wonderfully radical to me at the time I penned her. She went toe to toe with a vampire hero (ah, had I known back then that erotic vampire stories would become all the rage, lol) and never lost her edge. She didn’t swoon or pledge undying love. She didn’t lose her sense of self. I tend to craft all of my heroines like that.

JB: I’m in total agreement with you about despising the weak female characters in old-school romance novels. There’s nothing more obnoxious than a woman pining for a man to save her. Talk about unrelatable…

Tell me more about “The Razor’s Edge.”  Other than your characterization of Regine, what other element sets it apart from the other erotic (or non-erotic) vampire stories you’ve read?

KR: It was the first story I’d ever had published. Professionally. Just thinking about that after all this time still has me saying, “Wow!” The original anthology Erotica Vampirica: Sensual Vampire Stories was published in 1996. I was still living in San Francisco at the time, having just gotten over a severe case of the dreaded writers’ block, so getting that acceptance letter in the mail was like a sweet victory.

The two most obvious elements that stood out were one: the character of Regine was Black, and two: it was an interracial erotic vampire BDSM story.

JB: I like the sound of this.

KR: I’d always been into vampire books, both the classics and the contemporary takes, but none featured vampires of color, which honestly made no sense but…*shrugs shoulders*

One would think a vampire wouldn’t have any social hangups about their potential meal and/or mate, right? In college, I started reading a lot of feminist/women-oriented erotica and meeting these amazing leatherwomen, and all of that was such an incredible revelation to this bookish nerd girl. Here were stories and women who were unapologetically sexual in a way I didn’t know we could be. The stories I read didn’t require hearts and flowers and TWU WUV. The writers were creating a language of sex that was far rawer, hotter and sometimes raunchier than anything I’d ever read. Better still, it was an open playground that included Women of Color, lesbian/bisexual/trans/genderqueer and even older women. I wanted to play right along. So I did.

JB: Did you ever second-guess yourself?

KR: It was such an obvious thing to make my heroine Black because there just weren’t (and still aren’t) a lot of paranormal heroines/heroes of color. I didn’t think about it, that people would assume Regine was me. Regine became this Dominant woman who was bored and wanted to experience life on the other side of the whip. *grin*

The moment Regine took over – I love when characters do that – *grin* – that’s who she was. Then Astin, the vampire Dominant entered my consciousness (blame him on a huge fixation with Regency dandies) and I ended up with a story that was both liberating and WTH did I just write? and my folks are gonna have kittens. The BDSM aspect actually cost me two friends (both women) who couldn’t believe I’d write something in which my heroine not only liked being tied up, but got off on pain. My attempt at explaining the biggest open secret of BDSM, that it’s the sub who calls the shots, fell on deaf ears.

JB:  Closed-minded people often find it hard to step outside their comfort zones.

KR: Thankfully I found a publisher–Circlet Press–who was asking for stories from authors like PoC, GLBTQ, those in the BDSM/leather scene, whose voices were being marginalized. Seriously, they were way ahead of the curve when it came to sci-fi/fantasy-based erotica. None of the New York pubs were even interested in a niche genre like that.

JB: I have to be honest – I’m dying of curiosity now. This may be a delicate question, but I’m going to ask it anyway…

Like Regine, have you personally experienced “life on the other side of the whip”?

KR: When I penned “The Razor’s Edge,” I was merely more of a curious observer of the BDSM scene at the time. I was also dealing with serious writer’s block which had lasted for an entire year. I really had no idea that I’d end up writing anything about it though. The intent had been just to write a sexy vampire story. Actually, I was just desperate to write something.

Like most people, I had a bunch of typical misconceptions/myths about BDSM, especially as it related to where women fit in. It was hard to see how a woman could say she was a feminist AND a submissive. A Domme, yes. *grin* A sub, at least in my mind at the time, just seemed totally antithetical to the whole idea of equality. It was even more problematic seeing women of color wearing collars and walking around on leashes. That was just all kinds of wrong. And not just women, but seeing submissive males when what society taught was that men weren’t supposed to be “weak” like that, especially to a woman.

It took meeting real life women and ordinary people, not these model types–who were a part of the scene and them sharing their stories that made me want to know more. The first dungeon I was invited to, the first couple I met were these middle-aged professors, husband and wife. He was the sub, with this paunch and greying hair wearing these little leather shorts – *whee* – and the wife was this full-figured woman dressed to the nines in this stunning Victorian costume. We talked for hours and they were just the coolest people. They answered all my silly vanilla questions, even though it took me awhile to get used to talking to the hubby who was kneeling at her feet.

JB: LOL! I can imagine that scenario might have required a certain degree of assimilation.

KR: Talking with others like them let me in on the biggest open secret of BDSM…that it was the sub who had the real power. It took watching some pretty intense scenes to see that graphically illustrated. I saw trust, communication, caring, respect–all those things that we consider important in vanilla relationships. Talk about this “OK I get it” moment…but what amazed me even more were the aftercare scenes, when the subs are brought down from that “high”. Those were just, wow. Really intimate but not in a sexual way.

And so when I wrote “The Razor’s Edge” (which again was just supposed to have been a straight vampire erotic story, no kink), I found I had all these incredible experiences to work from, and the story really wrote itself. Regine and Astin just kind of took over and I didn’t fight it. Though I knew full well my family would be absolutely mortified if they’d read it, lol.

They still haven’t.

JB: Join the club – the day my family members and close friends read even a single paragraph from any of my erotic stories, I’ll probably drop dead from shock. XD

About Regine…was she craving something she didn’t realize she was missing until she had that particular experience under her belt?

KR: I guess the way I’ve always seen her was someone who wanted to not think about someone else’s pleasure, to not have to be “on” as a Dominant all the time. Contrary to popular opinion, being a GOOD Dominant is not easy (which I eventually discovered). You’ve got to be partner, psychologist, sometimes doctor, and I’d almost say psychic at times. You’ve got to be able to catch all these non-verbal cues the sub is sending and you’ve got to maintain control–one big reason why alcohol and drugs tend to be frowned upon by most lifestylers since they impair judgment.

In retrospect I see Regine wanting someone to see to her needs the way she saw to others. That she wanted to be taken care of and nurtured. And the fact that she decided, she took the risk, she didn’t safeword (though I kind of played with that concept a little)–she had this autonomy, and liked it. Most definitely she wasn’t a victim, which was really my goal with her. That she had agency.

Hope this makes sense. Funny, but I have the nagging suspicion that I may be revisiting Regina and Astin again. There seems to be some unfinished business.

JB: OK, no more teasing allowed! I demand an excerpt from “The Razor’s Edge” – STAT.

KR: It’s currently out-of-print…

JB: Bummer!

KR: …but “The Razor’s Edge” can be read for free on The Valent Chamber story site under my (other) pseudonym “Indira West.”

JB: So the promise of torture won’t last long…excerpt, please!

KR: “The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.” – Oscar Wilde

***

The setting, the silken shadowy world of Perilous Gard.

Medieval in tone, velvet tapestries of mythological beasts and of beautiful men and women under their inhuman dominion adorn the fortified stone walls. Grotesque gargoyles gaze sightlessly at the revelers, certain in their power to terrify. Discordant chants and sinful madrigals echo the seductive screams of the blessed.

Those in attendance move as if wraiths; the silks, satins and brocades of exquisite vestments barely making a sound. Voices are low whispers as if amongst the wind. Crystal goblets chime, filled with vintages rare and precious. The food is a delight even for the most discriminating of palates.

Perilous Gard is the world where love’s possibilities and permutations are endless and the lines between pleasure and pain are non-existent. Those considered Masters and Mistresses of Perilous Gard are highly sought. They are at the very height of their decadence, moral only when it suited their purpose. Unlike many of their kind who regarded a submissive only in terms of a willing body to be used and discarded at whim, the Dominants here tended to form lasting attachments to their slaves. Many of the slaves at Perilous Gard bore marks of loving ownership, intricate brands, exquisite collars or precious rings. Deep and fierce commitments between the two are certainly not uncommon. There were a few of the more pragmatic souls, who saw the bond as a means of securing total and abject devotion.

The slaves of Perilous Gard were highly trained, pampered, and prized all over the world as the most obedient. They are not picked for beauty alone, for all know well that beauty fades over time. They are striking creatures, no doubt, but are chosen for their intelligence, as well for their capacity to transcend the boundaries of pain. Sometimes cruel, almost god-like in their demeanor, the Masters and Mistresses of Perilous Gard expect nothing less than total worship.

And, nothing else is given.

***

She is Regine d’Florentaigne—known to all as the Countess Regine. A sobriquet bestowed upon her by those who adore and worship her dark alluring beauty and regal bearing. Those who know her well and there are but few, for Regine does not take her attachments lightly, that when she enters Perilous Gard, all action, all conversation ceases. She demands and receives obeisance as her just due.

This night, she is dressed in a gown of shimmering crimson velvet, a train of black Valenciennes laces trailing in her wake. A sparkling Victorian garnet cross adorns a slender throat. Beneath the gown, a pair of patent leather boots with six inch heels caresses a pair of voluptuous thighs. Her short dark hair curled just so beneath her chin with a widow’s peak lending a faintly enchantress-like air is pulled away from flawless ebony skin, emphasizing a seductive and ageless innocence that belies the heart of a skillful whip hand. Full, lush lips are colored a sultry crimson. Dangling from slender fingertips with their perfect half-moon nails, a leather crop, the thin snakelike tongue supple from much use.

Outwardly, Countess Regine epitomizes all that a well-loved Mistress should be—arrogant, proud, and untouchable. She speaks few words, acknowledges her fellow Dominants with a slight incline of her head. Inwardly, she seethes with an unspoken desire.

Yet another night unfulfilled.

***

JB: What a sensual, descriptive excerpt. Impressive! Now hurry up and get it back in print LOL.

I’m not the most experienced erotica reader, so it’s a bit difficult for me to gauge your core readership – have you received more feedback from male or female fans? Can you recall a comment that surprised you?

KR: It’s been years since I read a review. The one that I do remember was a compliment about my understanding of safewords. At that time, very few people were writing BDSM erotica (and no one in romance was going near it). It was a definite niche genre, written and/or read mainly by those with real life experience (even if they were voyeurs).

As far as the gender breakdown on feedback, it was pretty evenly split. At that time, living in San Francisco, there was this huge sex-positive atmosphere happening so women who were reading and loving the anthology got what the publishing company was trying to do. Mostly, the feedback was positive, which is always a bonus.

JB: Indubitably.

KR: On the other hand, I did lose some friends over “The Razor’s Edge” because they both felt it was glamorizing violence against women. And there were some men who mistook my writing erotica as tacit approval for unwanted sexual advances. That’s one of the many issues female erotica/erotic romance authors find themselves dealing with.

JB: An unfortunate fact, but nonetheless a reality many female erotica authors face. *stares pointedly at all the creepy dudes who asked for a private spanking*

Kym, how has your writing changed from “The Razor’s Edge” to now?

KR: Hmm, how has my writing changed? I don’t really know. Some days it’s really great, absolutely brilliant (grin). Other days that evil imp of perfectionism sits cackling on my shoulder and criticizes everything that ends up on paper or typed out on computer. That’s one huge reason I really love NaNoWriMo. I have thirty days to put that little bastard on ice and just write. It doesn’t have to be great, but having that 1667 word goal takes away so much stress for perfection right off the bat.

JB: Are you working on anything for NaNoWriMo this year?

KR: I’ve done NaNoWriMo four times and figured out that I am a true pantser. I create just enough information to have a general idea about my characters and settings then I let the characters take it away. I discovered on my second NaNo that when I created an overly detailed plot/outline, my writing felt forced, not organic. My characters got stuck doing what my plot said they should do rather than what they wanted to do. I ended up not finishing the story out of frustration, though I’ve taken fresh eyes to it and it’s something I know I really want to finish.

And let me be honest—I am one of the biggest procrastinators. For some reason though, waiting until the last minute always spurs crazy bouts of creativity. Besides, I’d rather read than write most of the time.

JB: Procrastination is both my drug and my downfall. Needless to say, I feel you.

What’s next for you as an author? Would you ultimately prefer people remember you for your creative writing or editorial work?

KR: Next for me as an author is to sit my ass down, throw that annoying self-critic in the deepest, darkest dungeon, and put the finishing touches on a novel that I wrote as my first NaNoWriMo. After that, I love writing short stories, so I’ll return to that format. As far as being an editor, I just want to be known as thorough. I’m terribly slow and sometimes overly cautious, but I also know as a reader, nothing ruins a great story than a bunch of misspelled words/grammar mistakes that should have been easily caught. Self-publishing already has a bad reputation for shoddy work. I don’t want to contribute to that.

JB: Good point, but I hope to see more of your work published in the future. Society would benefit from more exposure to diversity, in both reality and fiction.

Kym, thanks so much for granting me the rare pleasure of picking your brain. Best wishes for both of your careers!

KR: I’m really excited to have the chance to talk about my work in such detail. It’s been an interesting journey and I thank you for thinking of me to share it.

JB: The feeling of gratitude is entirely mutual. 😉


Author Bio: Kymberlyn Reed

androidify

I’m an author (go figure). That fact still hasn’t quite sunk in yet, even after all this time. I’ve been published in two countries–Germany and the U.S. Ironically, I don’t speak a whit of German, though I have an aunt who’s lived there since the seventies—she married a German national (I seriously doubt she’d be interested in a scholarly essay on women and slash fiction).

My first short story, “The Razor’s Edge,” appeared in the anthology Erotica Vampirica, published by Circlet Press. I seriously had no idea at the time that interracial vampire BDSM would eventually become popular, LOL. I considered finishing the sequel then changed my mind because there are so many vampire books already and well, I’m bored with the entire genre. My most recent work, “Shameless,” appears in the anthology Best Lesbian Erotica 2010 under my real name, Kymberlyn Reed and was co-written with my German writing “sister” Anais Morten. I’ve also a full-length M/M erotica novel Mit Haut und Haar also written with my partner though we both use masculine pseudonyms.

I have a habit of starting more than one book at at time and I usually finish them around the same time. I just have so many books and want to read them all. I do read fast–sometimes too fast in the case of really awesome books–and suddenly they’re done and it’s a case of “Waaah, but I don’t want to leave yet!” I’ve also been on a mission to discover and read as many books featuring lead PoC protagonists. It’s been wonderful finding so many talented authors who get that the world is more and more diverse. That’s also why I continue to write, populating my worlds with diverse characters. It’s what I’ve always known in my real life, so why not continue it in fiction?

Lastly, I’m an unapologetic metalhead who can do a pretty good death metal growl with enough absinthe in my system. I have a taste for fountain pens, sea salt soiree chocolate bars, men in kilts and teddy bears.


Titles

Erotica Vampirica – currently out-of-print

Best Lesbian Erotica 2010

The Wretched Tales (written with BL Morticia):
The Wretched Tales 3.1
The Wretched Tales 3.2

Social Connect

Goodreads

Google+


Interview conducted by Jane Bled

???????????????????????????????

Award-winning author of queer speculative fiction and erotica

Read previous Author Spotlight Interviews:

Season 2 on Goodreads

Season 1 on Livejournal


Treasure Hunt Giveaway: Win free eBooks

giveawayyo

Looking for your next favorite read? Read the Treasure Hunt Giveaway post. Then, browse the story samples from 13 talented indie authors. Not only are there appetizing excerpts offered from writers of all genres, all you have to do to win a free eBook is to correctly answer the simple challenge question at the end of each excerpt. Offer expires New Year’s Day.


Lastly, if you got some real doozies this year as Christmas gifts and wonder if you’re alone in your disappointment…you’re probably not.

The Twelve Worst Gifts I’ve Ever Received


Happy New Year – stay safe.

Cheers,

Jane Bled

Leave a Reply

