Giveaway #4: S. Evan Townsend’s GODS OF STRIFE (Historical Fantasy/Scifi)

*Please refer to this post for Treasure Hunt Giveaway details.

Gods of Strife 750x1125

Gods of Strife by S. Evan Townsend

Genres: Historical Fantasy/Urban Fantasy/Scifi/Paranormal

Format: Kindle (.mobi)

Number of Prizes Available: 2

Description:

They live among us. We know they are there. No government can control them; no authority can stop them. Some are evil. Some are good. All are powerful. They inhabit our myths and fairy tales. But what if they were real, the witches, wizards, and fairy godmothers? What if they were called “adepts” and an ancient evil stalks them?

An assassination attempt on the head of the American Meta Association guild sends adept Peter Branton looking for who wants him and his leader dead. Finding the beautiful, shape-shifting assassin leads him to his real enemy, an enemy that is much worse and much more dangerous: living gods of Atlantis. Branton must team with up with his would-be killer and a mysterious warrior to defeat the gods of strife that are intent on starting a war that could devastate all mankind.


Excerpt

“I hope this thing works or this is going to be a real short trip,” Graham growled as he pushed the button.

The steel gate started slowly opening.

I couldn’t see out the back of the car very well because the rear window was a tiny slit, so I didn’t know if Deimos was chasing us.

The gate was maybe half-way open when Graham squirted the Lamborghini through.  The car seemed to be extra wide but somehow he made it fit.  He turned onto the narrow street, tires squealing, and shot down the pavement.  The car made a sound like lions purring very loudly growing to a howl just before Graham would shift gears.

“Damn,” he exclaimed, “this thing is stupidly fast.”

I then noticed there was a right-hand outside mirror which few American cars had.  I looked in it but didn’t see any pursuit.  Maybe we were home free, I thought.

That’s when the fire surrounded us.

“Holy hell!” Graham screamed, but he didn’t slow down as he raced up the residential street, the fire dissipating as he wove in and out of slower cars.  And that was all the other cars on the road.

“Where you going?” I yelled.

Fire hit the car again.  Graham looked up out his window and barked, “He’s on a carpet, following us.”

“Can you lose him?”

“I can’t go fast enough on these streets.”

Graham was heading south into the city and traffic was getting thicker, and that was slowing him down.

“How do you open this damn door?” I asked.

“Pull that handle, I think,” Graham said, indicating a chrome bar near the front of the door.  I pulled it and it came out a bit, but the door opened and swung up.  I looked for something to hang on to, but there was only the slick leather seat.  I leaned out as far as I dared on the wide sill, the wind hitting me in the back of the head.  I could see Deimos behind us on one of those exquisite Oriental rugs.  He looked angry.

I assumed any attack I made on Deimos would be ineffective, but I had to stop him.

I shot an airbolt at the rug.  It worked…the fabric started ripping and fraying from the impact.  But Deimos kept chasing us.

There was a bright actinic light and I heard an explosion in front of us.

“Hang on!” Graham yelled and I felt the car swerve left, almost throwing me out onto the rushing pavement.  I grabbed the door and pulled it down as I fell into the seat.  Graham was passing a blazing Volkswagen Beetle.  Whoever was in that car was burning alive.

“I saw a bright flash and that car exploded!” Graham said as he dodged another Beetle, this one just moving slowly.

“Deimos,” I growled.

“Why doesn’t he just do that to us?” Graham yelled, turning the car right to go down a larger and wider street.  Luckily it was not as congested and Graham sped up.

“He doesn’t want to hurt his car,” I speculated.  “He’d rather kill innocents than hurt his precious inanimate possession.”

The brilliant light flashed again and I saw lightning, so thick and blue it seemed to be a solid thing, hit a car in front of us and then arc over to another.  Both exploded and the one on the right swerved out of control toward the Lamborghini.

I don’t know where Graham learned to drive, but he made the Lamborghini slide sideways and it just clipped the burning sedan, spinning the other car around and causing an ugly ragged ridge of aluminum along the right front fender of the sports car.  Wasn’t sure if I imagined it or if I heard Deimos roar in anger.  As we passed the sedan I thought I saw people’s heads inside, burning.  I had to not think about it before I vomited.

This had to end.


Excerpt Treasure Hunt Question:

What kind of car is Graham driving?

The first person to comment with the correct answer will receive a free Kindle copy of Gods of Strife. You must provide your email address in order to receive the eBook. If you’re uncomfortable posting your personal information in public, send it to my email: janebled@gmail.com. I promise not to share it.

Please allow 1-2 business days for the delivery of your eBook (arrives by Christmas).


Author Bio

Sevan

S. Evan Townsend has been called “America’s Unique Speculative Fiction Voice” and writes novels that cause thrills and rapid page-turning.  After spending four years in the U.S. Army in the Military Intelligence branch, he returned to civilian life and college to earn a B.S. in Forest Resources from the University of Washington. In his spare time he enjoys reading, driving (sometimes on a racetrack), meeting people, and talking with friends.  He is in a 12-step program for Starbucks addiction. Evan lives in central Washington State with his wife and has three grown sons.  He enjoys science fiction, fantasy, history, politics, cars, and travel.  He currently has five published fantasy and science fiction novels.


Links

Amazon

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

4 comments

    • Nina, since nobody claimed this prize back in December, S. Evan Townsend is more than happy to gift it to you. Which format do you prefer?

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment! 🙂

      Like

      • oh!I haven’t been in here for a long time? Does the offer still stand? If so my e-mail is nfalkestav2yahoo.com and I’d love it in pdf or if that is not possible, mobi
        Thank you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

